Thanks to the first Rietmark advertisers

Any business owner fondly remembers the first customers who made their business possible. When starting a new business venture, you need customers who believe in you, even though there is no track record yet. In the case of Rietmark, I would like to mention a few of the customers who advertised in the very first Rietmark booklet, way back in November 1997.

1. Arcadia Framers – Barend gave me a chance, although I didn’t even know him personally. And today he is still advertising in Rietmark, without missing even one month. Thank you, Barend for all your support and wisdom over the years.

2. Rene Kruse Spinning Club – my friend René challenged me with the following words – “if you start Rietmark, I will advertise in your first issue and start my own spinning club”. Such a challenge couldn’t be left unanswered, and so two businesses was born at the same time.

3. Plant Parade – my friend Thea (also living in Rietondale) was ons of my first confidantes, for whom I told about my new venture. When the time came, she and husband Gary was there to support me by advertising Plant Parade, their landscaping business.

4. Karlien en Kandas Speelgroep – looking after my kids at the three-days-per-week Rietondale playgroup, Alrina also decided to advertise for new kids to enroll in 1998.

5. Imprint Printing – my first Rietmark booklet was printed by Neville and Beverley from Imprint Printing, and they also advertised in my debut Rietmark. For seven years they printed Rietmark from their home business in Rietondale, and always gave me professional but personal service.

6. Aquadale and Binun’s Decocraft – husband and wife team Hanlie and George was my neighbours across the road, and great supporters of Rietmark.

7. Briza Publications – publishers of my little cookbook for hikers, Stapkos Sonder Sukkel, they also supported me in my latest endeavor. Through the writing and publishing of the cookbook, I learnt a lot about publishing and printing in general.

8. Erika du Plessis Creative Clothing – Erika was the reason that I had a second Rietmark craft market way back in 1992 (read the story of small beginnings at Rietmark). She gave me quite a few tips about running a business, and was willing to support this new advertising booklet as well.

9. ROAG-clothing – Phia also became a regular advertiser in Rietmark. But more than that, she wrote several inspirational articles which she made available for use in Rietmark – this was much valued by the Rietmark readers.

10. Pine Street Pottery – when wondering about what to call this new advertising booklet, Elaine suggested the name Rietmark, since people in the Moot already knows the name from the days of the Rietmark Craft Market and Tea Garden.

In the same way I can go on, but will keep it short by simply mentioning a few of the other advertisers: Rix Pottery, Louis from L & J Motors, Rita Pienaar with Annique products, Dale Real Estate, Purple Place Beauty Salon, Hettie Viljoen with Annique products, Annemarie of Pinkie Tinktinkie Mamma & Peutergroep, Angie of Heavenly Body and more. Thank you to all of you – without your support there probably won’t be a Rietmark today!

About Rietmark

Rietmark was established in 1997 to assist small and home businesses with the marketing of their business or service. Every month 80 000 advertising booklets are printed and distributed in Pretoria Moot, North, East and Centurion. We also offer design and printing services - business cards, flyers, car magnets, banners, chromadek sign boards, posters, vinyl stickers and more! www.rietmark.co.za.
This entry was posted in Rietmark Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

